|£799PCM 4 | Unfurnished | Ref 8020
||St Mellons Cardiff
****BEAUTIFULLY PRESENTED 4 BED DETACHED WITH SUPERB GARDENS & GARAGE & PARKING****
DONT MISS THIS ONE..STUNNING LARGE DETACHED HOUSE ON GENEROUS PLOT,LOUNGE,DINING ROOM,KITCHEN/BREAKFAST,MASTER BEDROOM & ENSUITE,2 MORE DOUBLES,SINGLE BED 4 ,GARDEN,GARAGE,PARKING !!THIS WILL NOT BE AROUND FOR LONG!
Visitors to St Mellons will discover that some street names, school names, notice-boards, church and chapel records refer to an older Welsh name for the parish - Llanlleirwg or Llaneirwg.
Many explanations have been put forward. Whilst the English name indicates that the Church was dedicated to St Melo or St Melanius, the Welsh name has earlier connections with Lleirwg, one of the mythical Kings of Gwent.
The late Father Cormack of St Peter's Roman Catholic Church in Cardiff conducted some historical research on St Mellon. Clergy at Rouen Cathedral opened their archives and produced the 'Acts of St Mellons'.
Mellon, surnamed Probus, was born in Cardiola (Cardiff) in Glamorgan circa 229AD. Sent to Rome by his noble parents, he was converted to Christianity by Pope Stephen, ordained a priest and later consecrated bishop.
In 261AD, Mellon was appointed Bishop of Rouen where he accomplished many good works. He died in 314AD.
Professor Freeman, the famous historian who once lived at Llanrumney Hall, observed that the name, now spelt St Mellons, until 1801 was St Mellans, and in Latin the saint occurs as St Melanus or St Melanius. He also stated 'the parish is called Llaneirog in Welsh.'
Archdeacon Coxe, in his Historical Tour of Monmouthshire, noted that in Welsh, 'the church is called Llaneirog or the Church of Eirwg, which signifies 'golden', derived from his complexion.
The late Bishop Hedley of Llanishen was a strong supporter of his Catholic Church, but also a friend of A H Williams, local historian of St Mellons. From discoveries made in Rome amongst ancient manuscripts, he noted that in 180 AD, the local chief was Eurwg/Eirwg, great-great-grandson of Bran, King of Gwent and grandson of the famous Caradoc.
Eurwg lived on the hill at St Mellons where the church now stands. At that time Roman soldiers were constructing the Via Julia from Bath to Caerwent and on through St Mellons to West Wales. They had their camp on what was known as Quarry Hill.
From the Roman soldiers, Eurwg learnt a little about the new religion, Christianity, and he yearned to know more. A message was sent to Eleutherius, Pope of Rome, requesting teachers. Dyfan, Ffagen, Medwy and Elphan arrived and converted Eurwg and his people, baptising them in the River Elerch (Rhymney).
Eurwg's church was erected on or near the site of the present church of 1360 and henceforth the district was called Llaneurwg/Llaneirwg, meaning parish or church of Eurwg/Eirwg.
we are open 6 days a week for further information and viewings